PDA

View Full Version : Chargers release Wes Welker

jeremyh
09-15-2004, 04:38 PM
Just heard it on the Charger press conference. They released him to acquire "Clinton Hart".

Clinton Hart is a Free Safety for the Eagles who started in 9 games last year while Dawkins was injured.

Threadkiller
09-15-2004, 04:40 PM
I don't want to see Eric Parker returning punts. He's too valuable as a reciever.

WyoBolt
09-15-2004, 04:41 PM
He was?? Seriously?

jeremyh
09-15-2004, 04:43 PM
Yeah, he was. Those of you who know me from the SignOn forums know I'm no BS artist. i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif

Straight from Marty's mouth.

SuperCharger
09-15-2004, 04:43 PM
You're killing me, Jer... Say it aint So. Not Fresh Wes..

If so, is this Clinton Hart guy any good?

jeremyh
09-15-2004, 04:45 PM
Info on Hart (http://www.philadelphiaeagles.com/team/teamRosterDetails.jsp?id=321)

compubolt
09-15-2004, 04:45 PM
wow, I liked the kid, but I was very surprised he made is past the last cuts. Atleast he has some good video to show other teams. I hope he can find another home.

Triknique
09-15-2004, 04:46 PM
Wow, that came out of left field. Does this mean Parker will return punts full time. Kind of scary, especially since Dwingt is already nursing a sore hammy.

jeremyh
09-15-2004, 04:48 PM
It appears he was released yesterday by the Eagles to pick up either OT Ian Allen or RB Dorsey Levens (they also put OG Shawn Andrews on IR). So the Chargers were awarded him off the waiver wire.

Hmmmm.. curious he'd be released after starting 9 games last year..

rule12b
09-15-2004, 04:49 PM
That sucks. I'm not impressed but I'm sure they had their reasons. Welker had a big upside in my opinion.

HOSSman
09-15-2004, 04:49 PM
Thanks for the update jeremyh.

I agree with TK on not abusing Parker as a returner. I would have released Leon Johnson off the PUP and kept Welker.

No question that we needed depth at safety. Anyone that has insight on Hart, please share.

Shamrock
09-15-2004, 04:51 PM