Go Back   The Official Los Angeles Chargers Forum > Chargers Talk > Bolt News
Register FAQ Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 11-03-2006, 10:53 AM
Los Angeles Chargers

Default All-time, all-talk

Not that we need another Winslow running his mouth article. But...

All-time, all-talk
Kellen Winslow is returning to the city where his father starred to play the Chargers. He's being none too quiet about it.

By MICHAEL LEV
The Orange County Register

SAN DIEGO – Kellen Winslow returns Sunday to the city and stadium where his father once starred, and it could have been the feel-good story of the week.

Then Winslow opened his mouth.

It wasn't the first time, and it won't be the last. The younger Winslow never has been shy. From his infamous tirade at the University of Miami ("I'm a soldier," he concluded, only with a colorful adjective before "soldier") to his self-assessment before this season ("I think my 90 percent is still better than every tight end out there"), Winslow always has been willing to talk, especially when the subject is himself.

This week, in advance of his first appearance at San Diego's Qualcomm Stadium, Winslow merely ranked himself ahead of the Chargers' Antonio Gates and the Kansas City Chiefs' Tony Gonzalez - even though his NFL accomplishments with the Cleveland Browns pale compared to theirs.

"I look at it like it's a heavyweight match, and it's me versus Antonio Gates," Winslow told Cleveland-area reporters. "I want to be the best tight end out there, and I have to do it on Sunday. Tony Gonzalez is right behind me, and Gates is right behind me. I'm trying to stay on top."

That's bulletin-board material, all right, and there it was, posted on the Chargers' locker-room bulletin board. Two stories, from the Cleveland Plain-Dealer and Akron Beacon-Journal, up on the wall, with Winslow's quotes highlighted in bright yellow.

Chargers defensive end Luis Castillo skimmed the stories and said simply: "Wow."